Family style, family style

Looking at my sister across the kitchen table.

Last night, I rode for 3 1/2 hours with my mother, sister and 4 1/2 year old niece back from San Luis Obispo, California to Montalvo.  Knowing we’d be making dinner upon our return, we stopped at the Santa Cruz farmer’s market.

My gracious mother and sister dutifully lugged the growing bounty as I demonstrated to them how one writes the night’s menu a la minute.  From one stall to the next, I fell in love with tiny scallions, farm eggs, daringly green broccoli, new crop zucchini and the proudest little haricot vert.

Of course, my family played a role in the menu writing process, too.

I honored the enthusiastic pleas they made for

artichokes, artichokes, artichokes

as we rode through fields of them in the hot afternoon sun.

2 May 2012

little green beans and artichokes with radishes, egg and anchovy vinaigrette

My mother’s pasta

chiocciole pasta with broccoli, green garlic and hot pepper

Alexis’ olive oil and Parmigiano Reggiano on the table

strawberries

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

