Wapke, come home!

Yesterday I helped myvillages.org with a fascinating translation project.

Essentially, I took rudimentary German to English translations of commentary from their film and reworded them to provide thoughtful and appropriate interpretations of their concepts.

As the film talks about food systems, farming and feeding people, I thought myself the perfect person for the job.  And since I’m such a ham, it was even more rewarding to perform and record the English language voice overs at the end of the day.  I also loved learning about the undesirable fish called plotzen — its German name literally translates to “roach”.

When we finished, I immediately ran to the kitchen feeling satisfied and slightly brain dead in the way that one does after thinking critically for a very, very long period of time.  The “myvillages” folk offered, in turn, to help with the dinner.  It was such a friendly gesture and it reminded me of earlier in the day when I learned the story of an anticapitalist potato farm that just gives potatoes to anyone who requests them and trusts that they will be helped in other ways by members of the community over time.

Thomas sliced asparagus, washed a lot of dishes and kindly peeled all of the painfully small cloves of garlic I’d been avoiding.   I sent poor Wapke to the grocery store for carrots and goat cheese. Unfortunately, some difficulty with a gate kept her from entering the grounds until just about dinner time.

I thought that last night’s dinner was just ok.  I rolled the tart dough too thin and the salad tasted a little flat, but the table held us in such delicious conversation.  I was relieved to just forget about the food.

1 March 2012

asparagus, radicchio and leek tart with goat cheese

Eden’s lettuces with sherry shallot vinaigrette

kale sautéed with garlic, pine nuts and raisins

leftover orange and cardamom granita

One thought on “Wapke, come home!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

